Week of 6/26/17

This week I was able start on connecting with the Slack, Google Maps and IBM Watson APIs. So far I have only been able to complete the timing scripts for the Google Maps API and I am still researching how to change the server used to process my API calls in order to see if the location affects the performance of the calls. So far the Google Maps API has been the simplest to use as far as connecting to it. The API allows you to enable certain functions and gives one key that will work whether or not you change the methods you would like to use. The slack API has been one of the hardest to connect though. The APIs documentation is not clear on how to get a correct API key and had different keys for different reasons. I had to scour the Internet to find the correct solution.  Once I found it I had trouble using some of the calls correctly. By next week I should have the completed the script for the slack API. Also I have learned a lot through my mentor’s weekly reading group meetings.

Leave a comment